Maverick Transportation’s Dean Newell Named ATA National Safety Director of the Year

October 18, 2010

Dean-Newell-Headshot-2010Maverick Transportation’s Vice President of Safety and Training, Dean Newell, was recently named National Safety Director of the Year by the American Trucking Association’s (ATA) Safety Management Council at its annual Safety & Human Resources National Conference & Exhibition in Rogers, Arkansas.

This year marks the 50th Anniversary of the prestigious National Safety Director Award, which recognizes a motor carrier safety executive whose professional qualifications, safety programs, and achievements are deemed most outstanding among his or her peers. It is the highest honor given at the national level to a safety professional in the transportation industry.

Newell began his career with Maverick in 1985 as an over the road driver. After spending ten plus years as a driver, Newell came off of the road and held a variety of positions at Maverick’s corporate office in Little Rock, AR, including positions in Recruiting, Training, and Safety. He was later promoted to Vice President of Safety in 2000.

Dean is responsible for Maverick’s safety and training programs for our diversified fleet of over 1,200 units. Maverick has been recognized numerous times for our safety record under Newell’s leadership. He was also honored as the Arkansas Safety Director of the Year in 2000. He is an active member of the ATA’s Safety Management Council, the Arkansas Trucking Association, and sits on the ATA’s National Accident Review Committee.

Based in Little Rock, Arkansas and operating over 1,200 units, Maverick has 30 years of experience serving the flatbed, specialized, dry van, and temperature controlled transportation markets throughout North America. To learn more visit their website at