Trucking Elite October 2011

October 1, 2011

Transport America Named Top Truckload Dry Freight Provider in 2011 Quest for Quality

Logistics Management, a magazine and eNewsletter containing up-to-date information for the transportation industry has named Transport America a winner in the 2011 Quest for Quality awards.  The Quest of Quality Award is the most prestigious award in the transportation and logistics industry.  It has been given out yearly for 28 years and was voted on by 4,575 logistics and supply chain decision makers.

To understand how the award works, the dry freight carrier classification is measured in five categories: on time performance, value, information technology, customer service, and equipment and operations.  Transport America ranked number one in on-time performance, information technology, and customer service, and out-scored its nearest competitor in the truckload category by 3.85 points with an overall score of 50.21.

“Transport America is honored to be recognized by more than 4,500 logistics professionals as the best TL service provider for 2011,” says Scott Arves, CEO of Transport America.  Mr. Arves continued, “It is a reflection of the quality of our driver and office associates and the relentless passion they share for providing great service every day.  It is very gratifying to be recognized as the best in what you do by the logistics community; I am very proud of our team.”

Arves adds that the acquisition of another high quality provider, Southern Cal Transport in January of this year by Transport America, will allow the company to expand its services to include more customers, a broader geographical footprint and more diverse product offerings.  “This acquisition expands our driver force to 2,200 drivers, delivering excellence in Solo, Team, Dedicated, Intermodal, Intermodal Dray, Regional and Brokerage solutions,” he said. For more information, please visit .

Con-way Freight’s Paul Phillips is 2011 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion

Paul Phillips, a Con-way Freight professional truck driver from Coarsegold, Calif. was named the 2011 Bendix National Truck Driving Championships Grand Champion. Paul’s driving skills and knowledge of transportation and truck safety information topped those of 428 other professionaldrivers from all across the United States in the National Truck Driving Championships, held in Orlando, Fla. The 74th annual “Super Bowl of Safety” is sponsored by the American Trucking Associations.

Paul Phillips

Paul Phillips

In route to his title, Paul has logged 35 years as a professional truck driver, with over 1.6 million miles behind the wheel. Paul began competing in his state truck driving championships in 2004, and this year he made his second trip to the National Truck Driving Championships.

The contestants were the state champions in nine truck types from all 50 states. Collectively, they have driven 595,155,665 accident-free miles.

In their respective classes, drivers tested their expertise in the driving skills they use daily. The competition course inside the Orange County Convention Center challenged their knowledge of safety, equipment and the industry. The skills course tested drivers’ ability to judge distances, maneuver tight spaces, reverse, park, and position their vehicle exactly over scales, before barriers or around curves.
“The National Truck Driving Championships showcase the industry’s commitment to safety,” said ATA President & CEO Bill Graves. “I applaud all the competitors for their efforts in making our highways safe, and congratulate Paul for demonstrating how a dedication to safe driving skills can make you a Grand Champion.”

Paul also won the individual straight truck driving competition. Joining Paul as champions in their respective classes:
Straight Truck:  CA – Paul Phillips, Con-way Freight, Coarsegold, Calif.Three-Axle: PA – John Hazlett, ABF Freight System, Inc., Philadelphia, Pa.Four-Axle: KS – Gary Harms, Walmart Transportation LLC, Olathe, Kan.Five-Axle: GA – Hershel Evans, Holland, Bremen, Ga.Flatbed:  OR – Edward Hawkins, Leavitt’s Freight Service, Springfield, Ore.Tank Truck:  PA – Leo Flack, A. Duie Pyle, Inc., West Chester, Pa.Twins: UT – Jeffrey W. Payne, Reddaway, Cedar City, UtahSleeper Berth:  OR – Joshua Carr, Walmart Transportation LLC, McCall, IdahoStep Van:  TN – James Sheehan, FedEx Ground, Hendersonville, Tenn.

Paul Phillips succeeds Carl Krites, a professional truck driver also with Con-way Freight from Wapakoneta, Ohio, as the National Grand Champion.

Michael Andrews, a driver for HEB from Valley Mills, Texas, was named the 2011 National Rookie of the Year after competing in the Three-Axle division. The Michigan state truck driving championship team won honors as the highest scoring state team, followed by Pennsylvania and Utah respectively.

Michael Barnes, a driver for Walmart Transportation LLC from Verona, Va. won the Vehicle Condition Award.  Barnes participated in the Twins competition. Laurier R. Dumont, a driver for YRC from Rochester, N.H. was awarded the Neill Darmstadter Professional Excellence Award.  Dumont participated in the Five-Axle competition.

ATA’s Truck Driving Championships included top professional truck drivers from around the nation competing at state and regional levels to make it to the national competition Aug. 9-13 in Orlando, Fla.  The Orlando NTDC annually attracted over 2,000 cheering friends, family, colleagues and spectators. For more information, visit the 2011 National Truck Driving Championships website: